I killed my plants…

As mentioned in my first blog post I have been making a few changes in the products I buy to reduce the amount of single use plastic I consume. Recently I have been tackling my beauty products. Below are some of my favourite products I have found over teh last few months

By far my favourite product is from Lush. Their shampoo bars are off the charts amazing. I use the Jumping Juniper bar which has antibacterial rosemary essential oils that soothe and cleanse the scalp. You can get it here. I also use their conditioning bars but find that the bars become too soft, even went kept out of the shower and are difficult to use so I am looking into a different brand.

Using a solid shampoo and conditioning bars are great because they don’t come in any packaging other then a paper bag and all you have to do is wet them a little, rub them around in your hands and lather your hair up. I find they really help with the amount of product you use too as it was something I always struggled to control and I find a whole bar will last me almost 3 months!

Hint: Keep them out of the shower and dry when not using to make them last longer

Goal Update:

Produce:

Sooooo about 3 weeks ago I planted a tray of spinach, micro greens and lettuce. They had just sprouted and started to grow and I was so proud… until I had to move flats and during the move I didn’t think about the weather and where they were placed. I left them in direct sun at our new flat and long and behold… they are now dead. However, the herbs I planted are doing great !I plan to plant another round of greens and pop them into the little green house I have along with the basil as it doesn’t like the cold so much.

My herbs

Less animal products

I have cooked a couple of meat free meals like falafel burgers, however I felt as if it wasn’t enough so made the decision that whenever I buy lunch or snacks well I am at uni or work they must be meat free. So far my favorite is the jack fruit taco from Mexicalli. Currently the only dairy I eat is the cheese provided at staff wine tastings so I’m doing pretty well on that front. I’m currently looking into nutrition yeast as an alternative to cheese in cooking… so watch this space.

I want to try and cook a vegan brownie so if all goes well I’ll post the recipe in my next blog post

Katie

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close